Happy Housewives, Darla ShineAbout 2 years ago, I was walking through Barnes & Noble, and the discount table had a book on it that caught my eye. It was called Happy Housewives: I Was a Whining, Miserable, Desperate Housewife–But I Finally Snapped Out of It…You Can, Too!  It made me laugh a little bit, but piqued my interest enough to pick it up and read the back cover.  And then the inside of the book jacket. And finally, skim the table of contents and introduction before deciding I would not only buy this hardback book for myself, but I would also get a copy for my sister! I won’t reveal the exact price of the book, but I was able to secure both copies for less than five dollars.

The book was available in three different covers, so I purchased the appropriate brunette cover for my sister, and the blonde cover for myself. I considered buying a third copy for my mom, but she has always appeared to me to have her stuff together and to be happy with her life, and I didn’t feel she would benefit from this book the way my sister and I might.

I admit, I did read this book two years ago, and I loved it. But after that one rainy Sunday afternoon spent reading, the book went back on the shelf with my stack of other lifestyle books that until recently were tiredly waiting on the top shelf, under a thin blanket of dust, for my life to get a little bit different. Other titles such as Katie Brown’s Weekends, Pottery Barn Storage and Display, and Change Your Life Without Getting Out of Bed.

With the launch of my new career as a stay at home wife and mom, I am “doing my homework” and researching how to make the most out of my newfound free time, continue to develop my mental game, get my house to look the way I want it to look (my main resolution for this year), stay fit and stylish, and “find myself” in the absence of the easy definition of a job title. In other words, I’m hell-bent on not becoming a lazy, fat, sweatpants wearing blob who can no longer carry on a conversation with my previous work colleagues or husband, who no longer knows what is in fashion, and who goes days at a time without leaving the house or at least getting dressed out of pajamas.

Darla Shine’s book was a treat. Some people are offended by her opinions as well as the way she delivers them. I found both her opinions and her straightforward delivery to be refreshing, relevant, and pleasantly aligned with my own. I agree with her assessment of the non-working wife’s responsibilities, the importance of not nagging your husband, and the level of contentment that comes from mastering one’s home. The joyful work of creating my home is something I look forward to and am already eagerly beginning to participate in.

For me, Darla’s book was accessible and full of much-needed reminders that I could relate to. I don’t want my husband to see our home out of control. I agree with her that after working together for so many years, the last thing I want is for my husband to think I can’t handle it! I respect his dedication and success at his job, and I want the same from him as I create the home that I desire, and he is eager to come home to.

