The first book I read this year was Belly Laughs. I know this book is nothing new, and lots of pregnant and not pregnant people have read it in the past 7 years since it was first published. Even if it’s not brand new, I love this book. When my sister was pregnant with Tabby (my 3-year-old niece), I sent her this book. I remember laughing so hard previewing it in the store that there was no way I was leaving without it. I mailed her the book (this was before my love affair with Amazon, when I used to buy books and mail them), and she enjoyed it. A few months ago, I received a huge package from her, including tons of maternity clothes, magazines, and this book! It was touching to receive the book back that I had sent to her years before.

On to the book! This is a quick read. I woke up at 4:00 AM one day this week because I needed to eat. That happens a lot since I hit 18 weeks. As I ate my toast and drank a huge glass of milk, I started reading this book. By 6:30 AM, I was finished with it. I had gone through a half box of tissues because I was crying with laughter. I was home alone since John had to go to work early that day, and kept laughing out loud in our silent apartment. I recommend this book for anyone pregnant for the first time, who isn’t still grossed out by talking about bodily functions… goodness knows, she’ll get over that fast enough!

While I loved a lot of the hilarious stories she shared, one of my most comforting takeaways from this book was the thought that “even playmates get fat when they are pregnant.”  That may not be what her goal was, but I found a lot of relief in her retelling of her eating habits and weight gain. Pregnancy is not easy. I am enjoying it immensely, however, do not be fooled: this is not easy! For someone who has strived for fitness and an active lifestyle since I was old enough to know the word Triathlon, I struggle with letting go of my body shape and letting it do what it needs to do to make this baby. I know it’s a great lesson; everyone tells me it’s just training for when I have children and have no control over anything. Control is just an illusion anyway, right? My thighs are teaching me that lesson right now.

The baby is kicking around. It knows I’m talking about it. Yeah, you’re making my thighs fat and jiggly. But that’s okay. After you come out, Mama will take you running until she feels great about her shape again! Note to self: register for running stroller.

