This year I’m working to implement some new daily habits. Making new habits is hard! The minute I get distracted or tired or caught up in something at work, my goals go out the window. Not consciously of course, I just forget about them.

As mentioned yesterday, my public daily goals include:

  • Daily posts according to schedule
  • Daily sketch or art journaling
  • Daily photo
  • Daily routine
  • Daily exercise – note: I did not mention this one yesterday, but I’ll include updates on this when I talk about eats and walks!

My daily routine is a work in progress. Right now I’m trying to implement a few simple changes. If you already do these things, it’s probably almost funny to you that I don’t do them, and am struggling right now to get off my couch and make myself go do them! But here goes:

Morning:

  • Make bed
  • Wipe bathroom counter and toilet
  • Floss
  • Empty dishwasher
  • Start one load laundry

Night:

  • Fill and run dishwasher
  • Shine sink
  • Floss
  • Wash face
  • Read

Of these, I’m having the most trouble with washing my face before bed. The morning routine is going well, but at night, I just wait a little too long, and suddenly my arms are too heavy to even think about dishes. It’s all I can do to brush my teeth and fall into bed! I’m happy with the progress on the morning routine. I’m on day 5 of this month, and I’ve only missed one morning of making the bed. Woohoo!

Each of the items on my other daily goals are going pretty well. I haven’t forgotten that they are my goals, and I have been making some steady progress on them. It takes 28 days to become a habit, so I’m just reminding myself of the goals, planning them into my schedule, working on them diligently, and forgiving myself when I run out of time or don’t acheive them all. Oh well! Life does go on. And tomorrow, I try again! Tonight I am off to brush my teeth and fall onto my pillow, with one sink full of dirty dishes and the dishwasher full of clean ones. I didn’t do so well tonight. But tomorrow I will fix that and shine it up.

Good night!

ps. I forgot to mention the Fly Lady.  For anyone looking for guidance on getting their household under control and organized (or in my case, leaving work to become a full time mom), this site is great for baby steps and getting you started! Hugs to the Fly Lady! xoxo

