It’s been one heck of a year. My life has changed dramatically and I am loving every minute of it. I’m working on my plans for 2011 as time keeps moving forward like a freight train. I feel exhiliarated, looking back at this whilrwind of a year, but more importantly, looking ahead to next year, and what I am considering my new brand new life.

This year went nothing like I thought it would, and yet, it was so much more than I could have imagined. While it’s a bit ironic that my last post here was in January and was looking ahead to the busy year I had planned, I’m still excited to do the same for next year.

Here are some of the amazing and exciting things that have happened in my life this year.  Part of my plans for 2011 include the scrapbooking for all of the great things that have happened in 2010, so plenty more details will be shared about these in the near future!

  • Celebrated our 1 year wedding anniversary
  • Ran a half marathon – without stopping!
  • Traveled to see my neice on the day she was born ~ missed the birth by just a few hours
  • Competed in a sprint triathlon, and beat my time for last year by over 30 minutes
  • Got pregnant! We’re expecting our first little one in early June 2011
  • Starting permantent maternity leave at at the end of this year, to become a stay at home mom

So many more amazing things happened this year, but I am not ready to spend the evening looking backward at them. I am busy looking forward to January 1, when I get to begin my new life, a great big empty slate just waiting for me to design it into the life I love. 

At the beginning of 2010, I had just compeleted a course on Big Picture Scrapbooking by Karen Grunberg. I loved the class, but found myself even more inspired by Karen’s blog, where she laid out her plans for 2010 so clearly and openly. Her list was daunting yet inspiring. I couldn’t imagine getting all of those things done, and she works full time (for Google, I might add!), and has 2 sons – the younger is just now 15 months old. I looked at her list and thought: wow.  And that was pretty much all I thought, becuase I couldn’t think anything else. I read her list(s) again: wow. Daily photo. Daily journal. Weekly gratitude journal. 52 new and inspiring things. Personal challenges like adding videos to her blog and reading a book a week! She seems like superwoman to me. 

I am not the type of person to look at her life and be jealous, discouraged, or overwhelmed. Instead, I am inspired. I can look at my growing list of things I want to do/learn/be, and I can look at Karen’s list and see her actually doing/learning/becoming the things on her lists. I don’t know how she fits it all in, but I am moved by her posts to look at my own life, and find where I can fit the things I want and remove the things I don’t need. 

In progress now: my list(s) for 2011.

