In the last week, I’ve been able to try several new uber-healthy recipes and move forward with my new, more nourishing lifestyle. I like the word “nourishing” a lot. It really sums up what I am trying to do in my life, not just in my diet. For example, last week a was able to join the Ladies Ride with the Austin Flyers. They head out every Wednesday. It was SO fun, riding with other women, getting in a good workout, and breaking up a difficult week of work with an evening of heart-pumping exercise. I’m hooked and planning to do it again this week.  Since Wednesday, however, I have not pulled out my bike, hopped in the pool, nor set foot on a treadmill. I felt that my body needed a rest, and I didn’t want to do too much too soon. So, I didn’t! Today I’m itching to get on the treadmill again, just sort of feeling like running. I may not have time, needing to drive to visit my mother-in-law for Mama’s day. And really needing a pedi…these toes have seen better days!

So on to the cooking news! Yesterday I made ‘almond joy’ candy bars using coconut oil, borrowing the recipe from Kimi Harris at The Nourishing Gourmet. They are SO GOOD. I read all of the reader comments and decided to use mini muffin tins so they would be more bite-sized. They are the most delicious thing ever. My husband is constantly saying “are these really good for me?”!  I did not use raw almonds, but instead used crispy almonds I had made according to NT.  Next time I make these, I’m going to use even more almonds as they are a great semi-salty treat in the middle of this sweet cup.

almond_joy

Another thing I tried this weekend were Kimi’s Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits, made with soaked flour. These were also DIVINE!  I followed her instructions exactly and cooked them up for breakfast this morning. John had about 6 of them! 

biscuit_stack

We split them and topped with Organic Valley’s Pasture Butter and St. Dalfour Red Raspberry fruit spread.  John preferred to top his with some local Austin raw honey.  We also had bacon and fried eggs. It was a great breakfast!

biscuit

This week I’m planning a few fun things related to food and training. Here are my high hopes!

Meals and other food ideas:

All Day Beef Stew – NT
Beet Kvass – NT
Lemon Garlic Drumsticks – The Nourishing Gourmet
Fast homemade spaghetti sauce (where did I find that recipe?)
Roast Chicken
Chicken Broth
Kale Ice Cubes for Green Smoothies – Sarah’s Musings

Goals for workouts this week:

Monday: Run at the Gym in the morning
Tuesday: Go to Pure Austin with the girls from work to check out membership options and classes. I would *love* to find a Tuesday night yoga class.
Wendesday: Ladies Ride!
Thursday: Run after work @ the Lake
Friday: Swim with John after work

Ok, that’s enough for today! Now what is for Lunch?

